Kiwi Jr. Sign to Mint Records for Debut Album 'Football Money'

Watch the video premiere for the record's "Leslie"

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Jan 16, 2019

PEI exports Kiwi Jr. have slowly but surely been making Toronto home, and the group are now prepping a love letter of sorts to their adopted hometown with a new album called Football Money.

"It's very much a Toronto record," explained Kiwi Jr. singer-guitarist Jeremy Gaudet. "Even though we're East Coasters, there's no nostalgia or romanticizing small towns. This album is about the neighbourhoods we live in and our lives here."

Football Money marks the first full-length album from Kiwi Jr., and it will arrive on March 29 via their new label home of Mint Records.

According to the label, "Football Money's 10 tracks document long-term relationships, proper adult jobs, and life in a big city that doesn't care if you exist."

Gaudet further explained, "Instead of being introspective, these songs are looking outward. This album is about the people we meet and things that happen to make up our days and weeks. It's less about trying to express ourselves — it's more interpreting the outside world."

For a taste of that, you can check out the premiere of Kiwi Jr. new video for album track "Leslie."

Football Money was engineered Aaron Goldstein (Daniel Romano, City and Colour), and the album was mixed by Holy Fuck's Graham Walsh (Preoccupations, METZ), with additional instrumentation and production from Alec O'Hanley (Alvvays).

Kiwi Jr. will be celebrating Football Money with an album release show on March 28 at Toronto's the Baby G.

Football Money:

1. Murder in the Cathedral    
2. Leslie      
3. Salary Man    
4. Gimme More      
5. Comeback Baby
6. Soft Water Apple    
7. Football Money  
8. Nothing Changes     
9. Swimming Pool      
10. Wicked Witches       

Latest Coverage