Kid Sister Explains Dream Date Delays

Kid Sister Explains <i>Dream Date</i> Delays
Having built a solid following from the addictive nature of early singles like "Control" and "Pro Nails" (featuring an awesome Kanye West guest spot), Chicago MC Kid Sister has had the world on their toes as they await the arrival of Dream Date, her debut full-length due via Downtown Records. The album, which was originally supposed to be released at various times throughout 2008, has been moved around incessantly. The most recent release date it was given was for January 27, but now word is that it will be out some time in March.

In a recent interview with Pitchfork, the rapper explained some of the delays, stating, "It took me a long time to see myself as an artist. I've been working on it for about a year. I've never done this before, so when I turned in the record in I was pressured by crazy-ass deadlines: My label, Downtown, was rushing the fuck out of me and I was like, 'Wait a minute!' The album wasn't cohesive. I petitioned Downtown to take it back and, apparently, labels don't really do that. I was like, 'What?!' But they let me do whatever I want. I was completely supported from day one, release dates be damned."

Citing her own perfectionist issues, the MC born Melisa Young explains that she wants every song to have its place. "There were a few things about the album that irked me, I couldn't sleep at all. I didn't think it sounded bad but I want it to be a reflection of the chemistry between me and my boyfriend and my friends and family. That sounds cheesy but don't judge me." Though she's still switching out songs here and there, she assured fans that the album will be done "in the next couple of months."

Tentative Dream Date tracklisting:

1. "Fashion Friction (Intro)"
2. "Life on TV"
3. "Let Me Bang 2008"
4. "Family Reunion" (featuring David Banner)
5. "Don't Stop Movin'"
6. "Beeper" (The Count and Sinden featuring Kid Sister)
7. "Get Fresh"
8. "Pro Nails" (featuring Kanye West)
9. "Down Ass Jawn"
10. "Dream Date Skit"
11. "First Ladies" (featuring Estelle)
12. "Control"
13. "Switch Board" (featuring Gant-Man)
14. "You Ain't Really Down"
15. "Damn Girl" (featuring Too Short) (Bonus Track)

Kid Sister "Beeper"