Kelis Announces Dave Sitek-produced 'Food,' Serves Up New Track

Kelis Announces Dave Sitek-produced 'Food,' Serves Up New Track
Late last year, we learned that Kelis had signed to Ninja Tune and was working on a new album with producer Dave Sitek of TV on the Radio. We now know this will arrive on April 22, when the R&B singer releases Food.

The 13-song collection was recorded entirely at Sitek's house in Los Angeles. A press release describes the results like this: "Littered with transcendent, Spector-esque lift, warm bottom ends and vast depth, the music is the perfect backdrop for Kelis's unique voice."

As the title implies, there are a lot of mouth-watering tracks such as "Jerk Ribs," "Breakfast," Cobbler," "Fish Fry," and "Biscuits 'n' Gravy." And we can't help but wonder if "Rumble" refers to the feeling in Kelis's tummy after reading over that tracklist. Not coincidentally, the vocalist is also a trained chef.

That's the album cover above. Scroll past the tracklist to hear the clattering opening cut "Jerk Ribs."

Read our May 2014 cover story on Kelis here.


1. Jerk Ribs
2. Breakfast

3. Forever Be

4. Floyd

5. Runner

6. Hooch

7. Cobbler

8. Bless the Telephone

9. Fish Fry

10. Change

11. Rumble

12. Biscuits 'n' Gravy

13. Dreamer