Kathryn Calder and Woodpigeon Announce New Collaborative Album as Frontperson

Watch a video for the title track of 'Parade'

BY Alex HudsonPublished Feb 17, 2022

Frontperson, the collaboration between Kathryn Calder of the New Pornographers and Mark Andrew Hamilton of Woodpigeon, have announced their second album. Parade will be out on April 29 through Calder's own Oscar St. Records.

The album was recorded on Vancouver Island, with Melissa McWilliams on drums and Peach Pyramid's Jen Severston handling bass. As a preview of the album, Frontperson have shared a video for the title track (directed by Frontperson's Hamilton along with Ramin Eshraghi-Yazdi). The song is an airy, softly soaring pop ditty full of tinkling arpeggiators and layered vocal harmonies — the playful sounds of which are brought to life by the dancing of inflatable tube men.

Hamilton said in a statement, "During lockdown, we racked our brains as to how to make a video to represent our connection and collaboration while locked down far away from one another. One day I drove past a half-inflated Sky Dancer outside of a weed shop covered in cannabis leaf camouflage with a joint hanging out of its mouth, laying across a car roof in the parking lot with only its arm waving in the wind and had a eureka moment: the narrators in the song would become a pair of Sky Dancers. I found a couple in Longueuil, Quebec, with a garage of Sky Dancers for rent (the woman even dressed like one when I went to pick them up), and Ramin and I raced around the city letting them dance in alleyways, on rooftops and even out of bedroom windows." 

A press release notes that the making of this album coincided with both the pandemic and Calder's pregnancy. It was recorded just around the corner from where Prince Harry and Meghan Markle were temporarily based, and "attempts to get some guest vocals proved unsuccessful." Bummer!

Parade will come out digitally and on limited edition CD and LP. There will also be an additional mixtape as part of a limited bundle, which will include remixes, demos, outtakes and covers.

Parade is Frontperson's second album, following 2018's Frontrunner.


1. Parade
2. Messy Roomz
3. Reach Out
4. Calgary '88
5. Ostalgie (Für C. Bischoff)
6. Fastest
7. Tattoo Boy
8. Table of Contents
9. I Fall Out
10. Visions

Latest Coverage