Joy Williams Details 'Venus'

Joy Williams Details 'Venus'
We recently learned that former Civil Wars member Joy Williams is striking out on her own with a new solo career, and she's now officially unveiled the details behind her debut effort, Venus. The collection is expected to take a close look at the songwriter's life over the last couple of years, and you can absorb all of its intimacy on June 30 through Sensibility Recordings/Columbia.

A press release reveals that Williams first solo full-length features "11 unstintingly honest songs" that act as an overview of the last two and a half years of her life. This likely includes the less-than-friendly breakup of Civil Wars. The band went on hiatus in 2013 before announcing they annulled their musical partnership last summer. Williams said at the time that she and John Paul White were no longer on speaking terms.

Apparently, the material on Venus finds Williams "no longer content to just conjure the antique grace of some mythic, bygone world" and instead opts for a more-grounded route, presenting a "human story of one woman's journey out of darkness." It's hinted that Williams is digging up some dirt, but she's "sparing no one, especially herself." Ultimately, it's looking like it's an album about living life on one's own terms.

Lead single "Woman (Oh Mama)" was unveiled in April, while Venus' most recent preview is called "Until the Levee." You can hear the ghostly whirl of pre-programmed drums, ethereal synths and Williams' powerful vocal melodies down below.


1. Before I Sleep
2. Sweet Love of Mine
3. Woman (Oh Mama)
4. One Day I Will
5. Not Good Enough
6. What a Good Woman Does
7. Until the Levee
8. You Loved Me
9. The Dying Kind
10. Till Forever
11. Welcome Home