Jon McKiel Returns with Self-Titled EP

Jon McKiel Returns with Self-Titled EP
Three years after Jon McKiel issued his Tonka War Cloud, the East Coast indie rocker is following up the full-length release with a slimmer, six-song self-titled EP.

Due June 3 through Headless Owl Records, the record is described in a press release as featuring six tunes balancing the songwriter's "warm, plaintive voice and considered poetry" with fuzzed-out guitar melodies and more.

While McKiel recently moved from Halifax out Sackville, NB, his eponymous EP was recorded onto an eight-track at producer Jay Crocker's (Ghostkeeper, No More Shapes) home studio in Crousetown, NS. Crocker also plays on the EP, which was apparently crafted to include "fuzz pedals and poetry, exaltations and a snare drum." Stylistically, the EP is said to give nods to friends of McKiel, including Chad VanGaalen, Shotgun Jimmie and Baby Eagle.

Down beneath Jon McKiel's tracklisting, you'll find the distorted but delightful "New Tracy" in a SoundCloud stream, as well as the recently revealed video for the set's slightly psychedelic pop-rock punch-up, "I Know (I Know)."

Jon McKiel:

1. New Tracy

2. I Know (I Know)

3. Dying All The Time

4. Twin Speaks

5. Accolades

6. Chop Through