Jolie Holland Announces 'Wine Dark Sea,' Premieres New Video

Jolie Holland Announces 'Wine Dark Sea,' Premieres New Video
Three years on from drawing out her Pint of Blood, Jolie Holland has announced she will soon be setting out on another genre-jumping journey. Her latest full-length, Wine Dark Sea, sets sail May 20 via Anti-.

A press release for the 10-song set explains that this time around, Holland set out to team-up with a handful of players from New York's jazz and experimental scenes to put together a "louder, noisier" LP flirting with elements of delta blues, country, free jazz and "no wave abandon," among other eclectic styles. Collaborators on the self-produced album include Doug Wieselman (Lou Reed, Antony and the Johnsons), Indigo Street and bassist Geoffrey Muller.

"I told Doug Wieselman I wanted an Ethiopianesque bass clarinet solo on 'All the Love' and he said, 'yeah, I got that,'" Holland said of the sessions in a statement. "I asked him to give me a tremolo guitar like Pops Staples, and he brought that spirit through for 'Dark Days.'"

Down below, you can get the first taste of Wine Dark Sea via a newly premiered video for its "Waiting for the Sun." Holland noted that she asked Muller to serve up a bass line that feels "like a sweet boyfriend telling his lady he's picking up the whole bill for their vacation on the beach."

You can sort out for yourself if the R&B groove indeed features said "comforting, manly vibe" by checking it out beneath the album's tracklisting.

Wine Dark Sea:

1. On And On
2. First Sign of Spring
3. Dark Days
4. Route 30
5. I Thought It Was The Moon
6. The Love You Save
7. All The Love
8. Saint Dymphna
9. Palm Wine Drunkard
10. Out On The Wine Dark Sea