Jokers of the Scene Announce Debut Album

Jokers of the Scene Announce Debut Album
Though they're called Jokers of the Scene, the Toronto-based electronic duo are actually some of the most fascinating and hotly tipped electronic musicians out there, thanks in no small part to their willingness to embrace everything from techno to kosmische to noise. As such, we're excited that the band are finally set to release their proper debut album.

Called End Scene, the album is "based on decades of VHS-addled film music, new wave jams, weirdo library records, acid house bangers, selected ambient works and warehouse jackers," a press release states.

The album's artwork (see above) was created by New York visual artist Sean Dack, who has also made a series of short films to coincide with each of the release's tracks. For now, you can watch an animated teaser from Dack below.

Rather than simply release the album on their own, the duo's Linus Booth and Chris Macintyre sought the help of the Throne of Blood imprint and Adam Marshall's venerable New Kanada. Instead of just slapping both logos on the record, however, the labels have joined forces to form Throne of Kanada. Hopefully we hear more from them in the future.

Throne of Kanada will release End Scene on May 26 as a double-vinyl LP. The album will hit digital retailers the week after. In addition to a visual album teaser, you can also check out a 16-minute mini-mix from the album below.

End Scene:

1. Umbilical Chords
2. Pop Shop
3. Risk Business
4. Channels For Success
5. Home Video Is Wherever I'm With You
6. Stoned In Death Valley
7. This Is Newsbeat
8. Hunk Of Punk
9. An Invisible Anthem
10. Industrial Blonde
11. Pretension And Release