​John K. Samson Returns with 'Winter Wheat' Solo LP, Shares New Single

​John K. Samson Returns with 'Winter Wheat' Solo LP, Shares New Single
After years of not releasing new material, the Weakerthans confirmed last year that they had kinda sorta broken up. That seems to have left the coast clear for frontman John K. Samson to further pursue his solo career, and he's just announced his sophomore full-length.
Winter Wheat is due out on October 21 through Anti-, marking Samson's solo follow-up to 2012's Provincial.
Despite the dissolution of the Weakerthans, drummer Jason Tait co-produced the upcoming album, along with Samson's partner and creative collaborator Christine Fellows. Weakerthans sound tech Cam Loeppky also helped out on the recording, while bass player Greg Smith can be heard on the new songs too.
The first sampling of Winter Wheat arrives with "Postdoc Blues" [via The A.V. Club], which tackles the topic of creating real connections in a technologically driven world. The track was originally penned while Samson was working on his For the Turnstiles project, inspired by Neil Young's On the Beach.
Listen to "Postdoc Blues" below.

Winter Wheat:

1. Select All Delete
2. Postdoc Blues
3. Winter Wheat
4. Requests
5. Oldest Oak at Brookside
6. Capital
7. 17th Street Treatment Centre
8. Vampire Alberta Blues
9. Carrie Ends the Call
10. Fellow Traveller
11. Quiz Night at Looky Lou's
12. Alpha Adept
13. Prayer for Ruby Elm
14. VPW 13 Blues
15. Virtute at Rest