John Frusciante Announces 'Enclosure' Album

John Frusciante Announces 'Enclosure' Album
The last we heard from John Frusciante, the former Red Hot Chili Peppers axeman was producing music for hip-hop duo Black Knights and, more recently, teaming up with former Mars Volta member Omar Rodríguez-López as Kimono Kult. This followed forays into classical music, synth pop and experimental world fusion. Now, at long last, he's returned to his solo career.

Frusciante's new album is his 11th solo release to date. It's called Enclosure and features 10 new compositions from the artist.

In a press release, Frusciante explains that the album is actually a culmination of all the elements of his varied output over the last few years. "Enclosure, upon its completion, was the record which represented the achievement of all the musical goals I had been aiming at for the previous 5 years," he said.

Even his hip-hop work acted as an influence. "It was recorded simultaneously with Black Knights' Medieval Chamber, and as different as the two albums appear to be, they represent one investigative creative thought process. What I learned from one fed directly into the other. Enclosure is presently my last word on the musical statement, which began with PBX."

Enclosure will arrive on April 8 via Record Collection. Album closer "Scratch" can be downloaded via the widget below.

Meanwhile, Kimono Kult's EP Hiding in the Light will be out on March 4 through Neurotic Yell Records.


1. Shining Desert
2. Sleep
3. Run
4. Stage
5. Fanfare
6. Cinch
7. Zone
8. Crowded
9. Excuses
10. Scratch