John Dwyer Readies New Collaborative Album 'Gong Splat'

Ryan Sawyer, Greg Coates, Wilder Zoby and Andres Renteria join the Osees frontman on his latest improvisational exploration
John Dwyer Readies New Collaborative Album 'Gong Splat'
Psych rock veteran/Osees frontman John Dwyer has announced his umpteenth COVID-era album, enlisting select members of his rotating cast of musical collaborators for a new improvisational album titled Gong Splat. The record will arrive on December 17 through Castle Face.

The nine-track effort, recorded at Stu-Stu-Studio, will merge the sonic powers of drummer Ryan Sawyer, bassist Greg Coates, keyboardist Wilder Zoby and percussionist Andres Renteria. For his part, Dwyer will provide guitar, synths, pan flute, cuica, hand percussion, space drum and effects.

Of the release, Dwyer wrote in a statement [via BrooklynVegan]:

This one is spitting fat and neon night light city drives
White in the corner of the pilot's mouth
Furry, fuzzy and frenetic
Motorik and full of blood-rich ticks
Maggots unite!
There's a show tonight!
Welcome back humans.

For now, you can hear the title track below, where you can also find the album's tracklisting.

Gong Splat:

1. Gong Splat
2. Cultivated Graves
3. Toagut
4. Anther Dust
5. Yuggoth Travel Agency
6. Hypogeum
7. Oneironaut
8. Minor Protocides
9. Giedi Prime