Jimi Hendrix's First Band of Gypsys Concert Gets Commercial Release

Jimi Hendrix's First Band of Gypsys Concert Gets Commercial Release
There's certainly been no shortage of live Jimi Hendrix recordings out there for fans to gorge on over the years, but the next concert collection to be catalogued will be for a particularly landmark moment. The debut performance from the short-lived though much-loved Band of Gypsys will see its full release for the first time on September 30 through Experience Hendrix L.L.C./Legacy Recordings.

A press release confirms that the arrival of the self-explanatorily titled Machine Gun: The Fillmore East First Show 12/31/69 marks the first time the concert has been unveiled in full for a standalone release. The show was the first of four concerts the trio of Jimi Hendrix, bassist Billy Cox and drummer Buddy Miles played at New York's Fillmore East venue between New Year's Eve 1969 and New Year's Day 1970. As fans will note, portions of the third and fourth concerts appeared on the group's Band of Gypys, which was released later in 1970.

The new release was produced by Janie Hendrix, Eddie Kramer and John McDermott, using the original tapes. It includes previously unissued performances of songs like "Earth Blues," "Ezy Ryder," "Stepping Stone," "Burning Desire" and "Machine Gun." At the time, none of the songs had been heard by the public.

"We decided that we couldn't do any songs that had already been released," Cox said in a statement. "We wanted to give them something different. So we went at the project in a joyous, creative posture and ultimately developed the repertoire of the Band of Gypsys."

While "Machine Gun" was the standout from the original Band of Gypsys release, studio versions of tracks compiled onto Machine Gun: The Fillmore East First Show 12/31/69 recently surfaced on 2013 rarities set People, Hell and Angels.

The album was mastered by Bernie Grundman and will be released on CD, two-LP 180-gram vinyl, high-resolution SACD and digitally. You'll find the full details of the upcoming concert set down below.

Machine Gun: The Fillmore East First Show 12/31/69:

1. Power Of Soul
2. Lover Man
3. Hear My Train A Comin'
4. Changes
5. Izabella
6. Machine Gun
7. Stop
8. Ezy Ryder
9. Bleeding Heart
10. Earth Blues
11. Burning Desire