Jimi Hendrix Celebrated with New Documentary/Live Album

Jimi Hendrix Celebrated with New Documentary/Live Album
An official Jimi Hendrix biopic is finally in the works, and in the meantime, the psychedelic guitar god will be honoured with a new live album and documentary.

Both the album and the film focus on the Second Atlanta International Pop Festival, which took place in July of 1970. At this event, the Jimi Hendrix Experience played to what is said to be the largest American audience of their career, with around 300,000 to 400,000 people in attendance.

The album is called Freedom: Atlanta Pop Festival, and it will be out on August 28 through Experience Hendrix L.L.C./Legacy Recordings. It will be available as a double-CD or 200-gram double-LP set and includes iconic cuts like "Fire," "All Along the Watchtower," "Foxey Lady," "Purple Haze," "Hey Joe," "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)," and more. There's also a version of the "Star Spangled Banner."

Liner notes were penned by Bill Mankin, who worked at the festival. He wrote in a press release, "At the centre of the vortex was the master magician on guitar: the personification of a life lived fully and wildly, with no boundaries, no limitations, and aiming for the stars at light speed."

As for the film, it's called Jimi Hendrix: Electric Church and it will premiere on SHOWTIME on September 4. An expanded DVD/Blu-ray release will follow on October 30. It focuses on the Atlanta Pop gig and the surrounding circumstances. The footage was shot by Steve Rash (The Buddy Holly Story, Can't Buy Me Love), and remained undeveloped for more than three decades. Additionally, the film includes interviews with Hendrix's bandmates, Paul McCartney, Metallica's Kirk Hammett, Steve Winwood, Derek Trucks and more.

See the tracklist for the album below.

Freedom: Atlanta Pop Festival:

Disc 1:

1. Fire
2. Lover Man
3. Spanish Castle Magic
4. Red House
5. Room Full of Mirrors
6. Hear My Train a Comin'
7. Message to Love

Disc 2:

1. All Along the Watchtower
2. Freedom
3. Foxey Lady
4. Purple Haze
5. Hey Joe
6. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
7. Stone Free
8. Star Spangled Banner
9. Straight Ahead