Jerry Cans Unveil New Album 'Echoes,' Plot North American Tour

Jerry Cans Unveil New Album 'Echoes,' Plot North American Tour
Iqaluit folk troupe the Jerry Cans have announced plans for their fourth LP. The record — titled Echoes — arrives this May 15 via Aakuluk Music.

Produced by Jace Lasek, the 14-track album was recorded at Breakglass Studio in Montreal. Echoes features electric guitar, violin, throat singing and "synth swirled drone tones," amongst lyrics that pay tribute to the band's home communities.

On the album, the Jerry Cans strive to "continue a tradition of celebration and resistance marching in lockstep, acknowledging the vital and fortifying importance of both."

Alongside the album announcement, the band have also shared plans for a North American tour. The trek commences this week in New Orleans for Folk Alliance International. The Jerry Cans will then head to multiple stops across Canada, including Montreal, Edmonton, Calgary and Victoria before finishing off in Penticton in mid-March.

See the full tour schedule below, where you can also find the album tracklisting and a short teaser video for a new track called "Atauttikkut," due on Friday (January 24).

Echoes follows the release of 2016's Inuusiq/Life.


1. Tukturjuk
2. On The Rocks
3. Havava
4. Qaumajuujusit
5. SOS
6. Ullaktut
7. Atauttikkut
8. My Brother
9. Spring Tide
10. Nain 
11. Echoes
12. Akuttujuuk
13. Kazabazua
14. Nameless

Tour dates:

01/22-26 New Orleans, LA - Folk Alliance International
02/06 Burnstown, ON - Neat Café
02/09 Montreal, QC - Petite Campus
02/10 Ottawa, ON - 27 Club
03/09 Edmonton, AB - Starlite Room
03/10 Calgary, AB - Commonwealth Bar & Stage
03/11 Nanaimo, BC - Port Theatre
03/12 Victoria, BC - Capital Ballroom
03/13 Burnaby, BC - James Cowan Theatre
03/14 Penticton, BC - Dream Café