The Jam's <i>Sound Affects</i> to Receive Deluxe Reissue this Fall

BY Greg PrattPublished Sep 13, 2010

Fans of classic UK punk/mod band the Jam are going to be busting out the skinny ties in anticipation of this one: the group's fifth album is set for a 30th anniversary double-disc reissue later this year.

Sound Affects, originally released in 1980, is going to get a deluxe reissue on November 1 in the UK (no North American release date is confirmed yet). The two-disc set will feature the original album as the first disc, and a second disc of demos, B-sides and alternate versions. A full track listing is below.

For this deluxe edition, the album will be remastered and will feature the original U.K. running order, not the U.S. running order (which means the album will start with "Pretty Green," not "Start!" as the U.S. version does), according to Slicing Up Eyeballs. The second disc will feature 21 tracks, eight of them being previously unreleased, including alternate takes of "Set the House Ablaze" and "Monday," two instrumental demos, demos of "Pretty Green" and "Start!" and the Jam's take on the Kinks' "Waterloo Sunset."

The release will also contain a 24-page booklet with liner notes by journalist John Harris and an interview with Jam frontman Paul "The Modfather" Weller, who got Jam fans all hot and bothered earlier this year when he and fellow Jammer Bruce Foxton shared a London stage for the first time since 1982.

The Jam broke up in 1982 after releasing their sixth and final album, The Gift.

Sound Affects: Deluxe Edition:

Disc 1:

1. "Pretty Green"
2. "Monday"
3. "But I'm Different Now"
4. "Set the House Ablaze"
5. "Start!"
6. "That's Entertainment"
7. "Dream Time"
8. "Man in the Corner Shop"
9. "Music for the Last Couple"
10. "Boy About Town"
11. "Scrape Away"

Disc 2:

1. "Start!"
2. "Liza Radley"
3. "That's Entertainment"
4. "Pretty Green"
5. "Pop Art Poem"
6. "Rain"
7. "Boy About Town"
8. "Dream Time"
9. "Dead End Street"
10. "But I'm Different Now"
11. "Scrapeaway"
12. "Start!"
13. "Liza Radley"
14. "And Your Bird Can Sing"
15. "Monday"
16. "Get Yourself Together"
17. "Set the House Ablaze"
18. "Boy About Town"
19. "No One in the World"
20. "Instrumental"
21. "Waterloo Sunset"

Latest Coverage