Jack White Looks Back on His Career with New Acoustic Collection

Jack White Looks Back on His Career with New Acoustic Collection
Jack White's wide and varied life has taken him from being an upholsterer to a interstellar innovator, but he's also managed to release a ton of music over the years too. His many projects will now be explored via a career-spanning collection of acoustic tracks.

The aptly titled Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016 arrives as a double LP, double CD and digitally on September 9 via Third Man Records/Columbia. The 26-song collection compiles various previously released album tracks with B-sides and rarities from the White Stripes, the Raconteurs and White's own solo career.

Of note, a previously unreleased White Stripes number called "City Lights" finally finds its home on Acoustic Recordings. The song had first started to take shape while Jack and Meg White were working on 2005's Get Behind Me Satan, but had been left unfinished until this year. It's noted that this is "the first new, worldwide commercially released White Stripes song since 2008."

You'll find a stream of the song down below, along with an album trailer.

Acoustic Recordings has been arranged chronologically, venturing from "Sugar Never Tasted So Good" off the White Stripes' second 7-inch release, towards the band's classic "Hotel Yorba" and "We're Going to Be Friends," and then through to White's Cold Mountain soundtrack entry "Never Far Away," material from his time with the Raconteurs, and songs from White's own Blunderbuss and Lazaretto albums.

Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016:

1. Sugar Never Tasted So Good
2. Apple Blossom (Remixed)
3. I'm Bound to Pack It Up (Remixed)
4. Hotel Yorba
5. We're Going to Be Friends
6. You've Got Her in Your Pocket
7. It's True That We Love One Another
8. Never Far Away
9. Forever for Her (Is Over for Me)
10. White Moon
11. As Ugly as I Seem
12. City Lights
13. Honey, We Can't Afford to Look This Cheap
14. Effect & Cause
15. Love Is the Truth (Acoustic Mix)
16. Top Yourself (Bluegrass Version)
17. Carolina Drama (Acoustic Mix)
18. Love Interruption
19. On and On and On
20. Machine Gun Silhouette (Acoustic Mix)
21. Blunderbuss
22. Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy (Alternate Mix)
23. I Guess I Should Go to Sleep (Alternate Mix)
24. Just One Drink (Acoustic Mix)
25. Entitlement
26. Want and Able