It's Official: The New Pornographers Get Together for New LP

It's Official: The New Pornographers Get <i>Together</i> for New LP
On New Year's Eve, New Pornographers front-man Carl Newman tweeted that he'd "Just finished the next New Pornographers album, I am pretty damn sure." Well, now he has no doubts.

Simply titled Together, the new album will hit shelves May 4 via the band's label home of Matador Records in the U.S. and on Last Gang Records in Canada. The record was produced by Phil Palazzolo, with the help of the band, in Vancouver, Brooklyn, Woodstock, and Catskill, NY. Included on the 12-track album are nine songs penned by Newman and three Dan Bejar numbers.

Together will feature the full eight-member New Pornos line-up, including Newman, Bejar, John Collins, Neko Case, Kurt Dahle, Kathryn Calder, Todd Fancey and Blaine Thurier. The band have also roped in a quite a line-up of guest talent, including Annie Clark (St. Vincent), Zach Condon (Beirut), Will Sheff (Okkervil River) and the Dap-Kings horns.

The band's press release promises that Together is "more varied, deeper, and broader than its predecessors" and that a lead-off single should be released shortly. The band's official website should have the single and pre-order information soon, but right now, you can browse photos of the band making the album here. There's no tracklisting as of yet.

In related news, Newman will be playing with Rhett Miller (Old 97s) and Nicole Atkins next Wednesday (January 27) at the Bell House in Brooklyn, NY, for a Haiti benefit. His makeshift band, called the Seekers, will be joined by Jimmy Fallon, New York State Senator Diane Savino, Cold War Kids, Ted Leo, the Wrens and Eugene Mirman.