Imperial Teen Return with 'Feel the Sound' LP

Imperial Teen Return with 'Feel the Sound' LP
Co-ed pop rockers Imperial Teen haven't released too many albums since their inception in 1996, but the long-running outfit have announced they're back with a fifth full-length effort, Feel the Sound, due for release early next year.

The follow-up to 2007's "catchy, irreverent" The Hair the TV the Baby and the Band, Feel the Sound comes out January 31 via Merge, and the label insists in a statement that the new disc is "immediate and pleasurable but also lasting and haunting."

Like past work, the record is said to balance the talents of guitarists Roddy Bottum and Will Schwartz, alongside bassist Jone Stebbins and drummer Lynn Perko Truell, with all four tackling lead vocals on bubblegummy first single "Runaway." You can stream and/or download the track below. Elsewhere, the band are said to mix "a Krautrock level of intuitive synchronicity and a desert island jukebox's sense of fun." Despite their 16 years together, Merge touts that Imperial Teen are as youthful as ever.

You can pre-order the record here now and potentially nab yourself a poster and a limited-edition key-ring ear-plug case.

Feel the Sound:

1. "Runaway"

2. "No Matter What You Say"

3. "Last to Know"

4. "Over His Head"

5. "Hanging About"

6. "All the Same"

7. "Don't Know How You Do It"

8. "Out From Inside"

9. "The Hibernates"

10. "It's You"

11. "Overtaken"

Imperial Teen - Runaway by