Iggy Pop


BY Gregory AdamsPublished Jan 22, 2016

Just hours after announcing they'd made an album together, Iggy Pop and Queens of the Stone Age's Josh Homme appeared on last night's (January 21) Late Show with Stephen Colbert to talk about Post Pop Depression and premiere its first single, "Gardenia." An official video of the broadcast has yet to be unveiled online, but the studio version of the single is streaming now.

UPDATE (01/22, 8:30 a.m.): Watch the pair's interview and performance on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert below.

The song is a slow-burner built around speaker-panning guitar lines, a slick bass groove, and steady-paced drums. Above this, Pop uses a lowered tone to weigh in on the titular Gardenia, life on the streets, an "hourglass ass," misery and more. "You can be burned at the stake for all your mistakes," he sings at one point.

As previously reported, Post Pop Depression was co-written with Homme, with Pop's backup band on the record also including Dean Fertita and Arctic Monkeys drummer Matt Helders.

The record is due to hit stores March 18 via Loma Vista/Concord. A tracklisting can be found below.

Post Pop Depression:

1. Break Into Your Heart
2. Gardenia
3. American Valhalla
4. In the Lobby
5. Sunday
6. Vulture
7. German Days
8. Chocolate Drops
9. Paraguay

Latest Coverage