Ian Daniel Kehoe Announces 'Yes Very So' Album, Shares "Sweet & Sour" Video

The former Attack in Black member offers up some smooth '80s synthpop

BY Alex HudsonPublished May 5, 2022

Ian Daniel Kehoe released an impressive three albums in 2020, and now he's back with another. The former Attack in Black member's album Yes Very So is out July 8 through Tin Angel Records, and the new single "Sweet & Sour" is out now.

An announcement promises "a palette of beautifully sequenced synthesizer pieces and warm, centred drum machine pockets," pointing to influences like Beverley Glenn-Copeland's Keyboard Fantasies, Hiroshi Yoshimura's Green, Ryuchi Sakamoto's 1980s work, Pet Shop Boys and the Human League. The album was written, recorded and mixed entirely by Kehoe, with trumpet by Riley Simpson and lap steel by Christine Bougie.

Below, get a taste of Yes Very So with the video for the smooth, silky "Sweet & Sour." It's decidedly more sweet than sour, with a drum machine mellow groove delicately kissed with soft synths, tender horn and reverb. The accompanying video, directed by Colin Medley, shows some very sensual blanket folding.

Yes Very So's nine-song tracklist is below the video. The album can be preordered from Bandcamp.

Yes Very So:

1. Structured Silk
2. IMO
3. J'taime Amen
4. Umbrella
5. Sweet & Sour
6. Butterfly
7. Yes Very So
8. Spec 3
9. Art Work Circle

Latest Coverage