Hüsker Dü's 'The Living End' Treated to First Vinyl Release

Hüsker Dü's 'The Living End' Treated to First Vinyl Release
There is a new year rising, but 2015 will be bringing back old memories for Hüsker Dü fans via a vinyl reissue of their live compendium, The Living End.

Music on Vinyl will bring the LP out on wax January 19, marking the first-ever vinyl pressing of the concert compilation. Warner Bros. had originally delivered The Living End on CD in 1994.

A press release explains that the collection compiles recordings from various concert stops in 1987 and spans various points of the band's catalogue, from early hardcore cuts like Land Speed Record's "Data Control" to Candy Apple Grey tracks like "Hardly Getting Over It." The tracklisting also covers all three members' writing contributions, from Bob Mould and Grant Hart classics like "New Day Rising" to rare Greg Norton contribution "Everytime." It also contains a cover of the Ramones' "Sheena Is a Punk Rocker."

The recordings likewise display the trio's tendency to have shot off songs in "packs of three." The live album preserves this a few times, whether threading together "Standing in the Rain," "Back from Somewhere" and "Ice Cold Ice," or "Terms of Psychic Warfare," "Powerline" and "Books About UFOs."

The first pressing of The Living End arrives on 180-gram "mystery coloured vinyl" and includes an insert.

The Living End:

Side A:

1. New Day Rising
2. Girl Who Lives On Heaven Hill
3. Standing In The Rain 
4. Back From Somewhere 
5. Ice Cold Ice

Side B:

1. Everytime
2. Friend, You've Got To Fall 
3. She Floated Away 
4. From The Gut 
5. Target
6. It's Not Funny Anymore
7. Hardly Getting Over It

Side C:

1. Terms Of Psychic Warfare
2. Powerline 
3. Books About UFOs
4. Divide And Conquer 
5. Keep Hanging On 
6. Celebrated Summer 
7. Now That You Know Me

Side D:

1. Ain't No Water In The Well
2. What's Going On
3. Data Control
4. In A Free Land
5. Sheena Is A Punk Rocker