Helena Deland Announces Debut Album 'Someone New'

Watch a video for the record's title track
Helena Deland Announces Debut Album 'Someone New'
Helena Deland has at last announced her debut album. Called Someone New, the first album by the Montreal artist will arrive on October 16 via Luminelle Recordings. As a preview, you can watch a video for the record's title track now.

The video was directed by Xavier Bélanger-Dorval, and it "features Deland sitting for a portrait, capturing the discomfort of needing to keep still while being scrutinized and on display," explains a press release.

In a statement of her own, Deland offered the following of the album as a whole:

Someone New is about paradoxically feeling sick of and unfamiliar with myself. I realized that I associated primarily with what others (real or imagined) projected onto me, and acted in ways to avoid disappointing this projection or imagined expectation.The quest to please and conform distracted me from who I already was and I laboured to comply to a normative set of expectations. I noticed my troubled relationship with my body, which escaped my control and gave others so much information it seemed to withhold from me. I sought comfort in romantic relationships, which validated me and where I was free to at least momentarily reinvent myself for the other's sake. I felt guilty of my privilege, the idea of which my dejection didn't sit well with, and I was trapped in patterns that grew more and more familiar. I longed to become someone new! I had to look at this critically in order to write songs I thought made the least bit of sense, trying not to give into the tendency to bend myself to integrated expectations and my anxiety to please. The meta delight in this whole story is that the process helped me better recognize what defines me both outwardly and inwardly, and made me somewhat new to myself.

Check out the "Someone New" video below, where you'll also find the tracklisting. That's the album cover above.

Someone New:

1. Someone New

2. Truth Nugget

3. Dog

4. Fruit Pit

5. Pale

6. Comfort, Edge

7. The Walk Home

8. Seven Hours
9. Smoking at the Gas Station

10. Lylz

11. Mid-Practice

12. Clown Neutral

13. Fill the Rooms

Pre-order Someone New.