Hayden Announces New Album, Shares Video for "On a Beach" Starring Feist, Steve Buscemi and Matt Berninger

'Are We Good' is Hayden's first album of new material in eight years

BY Kaelen BellPublished Feb 28, 2023

Hayden will return this spring with his first new album in eight years — Are We Good is the follow-up to 2015's Hey Love, and it's arriving April 5 on Arts & Crafts. Alongside the album announcement, Hayden's also shared lead single "On a Beach," a lovely, burbling thing that features Feist

"On a Beach" comes attached to a video featuring Feist and Hayden as a couple seeking counselling from none other than Steve Buscemi. The National's Matt Berninger also shows up as a boardwalk hypnotist. It was directed by frequent Hayden collaborator Yael Staav. 

In a statement about the new track, Hayden wrote that it was the product of a songwriting workshop that he was invited to join by Feist:

"On a Beach" was my 'day four' submission. I continued tinkering with the song and recording in the following weeks, adding a bridge, tracking several synth lines to try to create what I thought hypnosis may sound like. A few weeks later, Leslie was in town and I invited her to sing on a newer verse I'd written to make the song more of a conversation. Who better than the best, and the one who basically made the song happen in the first place.

Are We Good was six years in the making, and at one point, had as many as sixty songs in the running to be included. It was written, produced and mixed predominantly by Hayden at Skyscraper National Park, and features two Berninger co-writes on album tracks "It's Just Me" and "Can't Happen Now." 

Check out the video for "On a Beach" and the Are We Good tracklist below. 

Are We Good:

1. East Coast
2. We Danced
3. On  Beach feat. Feist
4. Terry Cloth Blue (Every Single Thing)
5. Nothing Wrong
6. Are We Good
7. Window Washer Blues
8. Miss Fort Erie
9. It's Just Me
10. Lay This in Mind 
11. Can't Happen Now

Pre-order Are We Good.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage