Guided By Voices Return with New Album

Guided By Voices Return with New Album
Holy, this is actually happening: Guided By Voices are releasing a new album. While just a couple of weeks ago the indie rock icons reportedly played their last show ever at the Hopscotch festival in Raleigh, NC, the band have just revealed that they've still got something left to share on your stereo, namely a new full-length called Lets Go Eat the Factory.

Mojo reports that the studio album, their 16th overall, features the classic GBV lineup -- Robert Pollard, Tobin Sprout, Greg Demos, Mitch Mitchell and Kevin Fennell -- bashing out 21 more lo-fi rock anthems for their faithful. It will reportedly come out January 1; however, with that day being a Sunday, it's a mighty weird release date. While no sound samples have been dropped, some of our favourite song titles so far are "The Unsinkable Fats Domino" and "Doughnut for a Snowman."

The album may come as a surprise for many, as the band hadn't mentioned they would be recording any new material throughout their recent run of reunion gigs. Of the show and the band's future, frontman Pollard said at the time, "After this has run its course, that's the end for Guided By Voices. My justification for even doing it was, we're old, but we're not completely feeble yet. We can still do it a little bit, so we better do this before that happens."

Lets Go Eat the Factory:

1. "Laundry And Lasers"

2. "The Head"

3. "Doughnut For A Snowman"

4. "Spiderfighter"

5. "Hang Mr. Kite"

6. "God Loves Us"

7. "The Unsinkable Fats Domino"

8. "Who Invented The Sun"

9. "The Big Hat And Toy Show"

10. "Imperial Racehorsing"

11. "How I Met My Mother"

12. "Wave"

13. "My Europa"

14. "Chocolate Boy"

15. "The Things That Never Need"

16. "Either Nelson"

17. "Cyclone Utilities (Remember Your Birthday)"

18. "Old Bones"

19. "Go Rolling Home"

20. "The Room Taking Shape"

21. "We Won't Apologize For The Human Race"