Gov't Mule The Deep End, Volume 2

Conceived in tribute to bassist Allen Woody (who died of an overdose in the summer of 2000), The Deep End had 25 of Woody’s favourite bassists join the remaining Gov’t Mule duo, guitarist Warren Haynes and drummer Matt Abts. Volume One was released November 2001 and its companion volume has just now seen release through Dave Matthews’ ATO imprint. The album finds a dozen different bassists contributing, along with an assortment of backing players, making this a who’s who of rock history. The big names this time around include Jason Newsted, Les Claypool, Yes’s Chris Squire, Me'Shell NdegéOcello and a bevy of more obscure players. Album standout "World of Confusion” features Tony Levin, formerly of King Crimson, and Gary Lucas on second guitar, while the mystical "Lay Of The Sunflower” features Haynes’s other boss, Phil Lesh, along with David Grisman on mandolin. The album’s stylistic breadth highlights Gov’t Mule’s versatility, past and present, including their current revolving door touring bassist arrangement. The first pressing of The Deep End, Volume 2 offers a CD-Rom documentary on hardworking Haynes and his three current bands (the Allman Brothers, Gov’t Mule and Phil Lesh’s quintet). Also recommended is the project documentary DVD The Rising Low, done by another bassist, Mike Gordon of Phish. (ATO)