Glen Campbell Revisits Past Hits on 'See You There'

Glen Campbell Revisits Past Hits on 'See You There'
Glen Campbell is suffering from Alzheimer's disease, so much so he just revealed that he will no longer be touring, and his 2011 album Ghost on the Canvas was billed as a farewell album. Surprisingly, the country vet has now announced another disc called See You There, which will be out on August 6 through Surfdog Records.

The album doesn't include much in the way of new material, but rather focuses mostly on reworked versions of songs from Campbell's back catalogue. The singer recorded the vocals during sessions for Ghost on the Canvas, and producers Dave Darling and Dave Kaplan then recruited a group of backing musicians to flesh out the arrangements.

Among the well-known songs included here are "Gentle On My Mind," "By the Time I Get to Phoenix," "Hey Little One," "Wichita Lineman," "Galveston," "True Grit" and "Rhinestone Cowboy."

There is also a small selection of newer tunes. The Ghost on the Canvas track "There's No Me...Without You" is included, as are the bonus cuts from that album, "What I Wouldn't Give" and "I Wish You Were Here." A song called "Waiting on the Comin' of My Lord" is culled from the same sessions but wasn't completed until now.

Glen's wife Kim said in a statement, "When Glen heard the results of what Dave and Dave did in reinterpreting these songs, he lit up and was smiling from ear to ear. And I was too,. This record is a more intimate and unique take on many of Glen's most popular songs as well as some other gems. The producers took the magic of his voice and showcased it with tastefully chosen instrumentation, in a whole new and different way for Glen."

See You There:

1. Hey Little One
2. Wichita Lineman
3. Gentle On My Mind
4. I Wish You Were Here
5. Waiting on the Comin' of My Lord
6. What I Wouldn't Give
7. Galveston
8. By the Time I Get to Phoenix
9. There's No Me...Without You
10. True Grit
11. Rhinestone Cowboy
12. Waiting on the Comin' of My Lord (ft. Jose Hernandez & Mariachi Del Sol De Mexico)