The Get Up Kids' Simple Science Morphs into EP Series

The Get Up Kids' <i>Simple Science</i> Morphs into EP Series
We told you back in February about the Get Up Kids' plans to release an EP called Simple Science in April. Well, it turns out those plans have changed a bit, but in a way that's guaranteed to please fans of the recently reunited emo pop pioneers.

The band have posted on their website that Simple Science is now going to be a collection of three EPs. Here's what they had to say:

Each release contains four new original songs and will be made available in limited twelve-inch, ten-inch and CD form. The songs will digitally live forever exclusively on iTunes. The first EP will be released in April 2010, with the second planned for the summer, and the third planned for the fall of the same year. The Simple Science series marks the band's first new release in six years and their first independent release since 1996's self-titled seven-inch. The songs were written spontaneously and recorded mostly live to two-inch tape at the Black Lodge with Ed Rose. Almost no computer technology was used.

The physical versions of the first EP are available for pre-order here and is available digitally on iTunes as of yesterday (April 13).

The Get Up Kids' last full-length outing was 2004's Guilt Show.

Thanks to Punknews for the heads-up.