George Harrison Demos Unearthed for New 'Early Takes' Collection

George Harrison Demos Unearthed for New 'Early Takes' Collection
Following last year's Martin Scorsese-directed documentary Living in the Material World, Beatles legend George Harrison is set to be honoured with a posthumous collection of demos and outtakes. Entitled Early Takes Volume 1, it's due out on May 1 via Hip-O Records.

The album's ten songs include demos of classic Harrison solo cuts like "My Sweet Lord" and "All Things Must Pass." Bob Dylan's influence looms heavy on the collection via a cover of his "Mama You've Been on My Mind," plus Harrison's own "I'd Have You Anytime," which was co-written with Dylan.

The album will be available on vinyl and CD, and you can pre-order a copy from Amazon. The title suggests that there may eventually be a follow-up, but there's currently no word on a possible Volume 2.

Also on May 1, Scorsese's George Harrison: Living in the Material World will come out on DVD in North America through Universal. It will be available in three separate editions: a two-DVD set, Blu-ray, and a deluxe edition containing both the DVD and Blu-ray, along with a 96-page photography book and a CD copy of Early Takes Volume 1.

Early Takes Volume 1:

1. My Sweet Lord (demo)

2. Run of the Mill (demo)

3. I'd Have You Any Time (early take)

4. Mama You've Been on My Mind (demo) (Bob Dylan cover)

5. Let It Be Me (demo)

6. Woman Don't You Cry For Me (early take)

7. Awaiting on You All (early take)

8. Behind That Locked Door (demo)

9. All Things Must Pass (demo)

10. The Light That Has Lighted The World (demo)