Galactic to Issue The Other Side Of Midnight: Live in New Orleans

Galactic to Issue <i>The Other Side Of Midnight: Live in New Orleans</i>
New Orleans outfit Galactic have tried out a number of styles over the years, from funk to jazz to blues to hip-hop, most recently evidenced on their 2010 full-length, Ya-Ka-May. If you ever wanted to know how they pull off their genre-blending feats live, things are about to get much clearer: the group are set to release a new live album.

Titled The Other Side of Midnight: Live in New Orleans, the live set bundles a bunch of Ya-Ka-May tunes together with some older favourites. The show was recorded last year at a sold-out performance at famous New Orleans nightclub Tipitinas, which, on top of hosting legends like Dr. John and Professor Longhair over the years, has become a bit of a home base for Galactic.

Spicing up Galactic's peppery horn arrangements and funk grooves are a number of New Orleans guest musicians, from bounce artist Big Freedia to vocalist/percussionist Cyril Neville. Check out the tracklisting below.

The Other Side of Midnight: Live in New Orleans comes out May 3 on Anti- Records.

The Other Side of Midnight: Live in New Orleans:

1. "Introduction"
2. "Gossip" (ft. Cyril Neville)
3. "Balkan Wedding"
4. "You Don't Know" (ft Cyril Neville)
5. "Cinearamascope" (ft. Trombone Shorty)
6. "Heart Of Steel" (ft. Cyril Neville)
7. "Garbage Truck"
8. "Boe Money" (feat. the Soul Rebels Brass Band)
9. "Wild Man"
10. "From The Corner To The Block" (ft. The Soul Rebels Brass Band & Corey Henry)
11. "Funky Bird"
12. "Boban" (Mere Yaara Dildara)
13. "Encore: Double It" (ft. Big Freedia)

Galactic - "Heart of Steel" feat. Irma Thomas