Future Islands Remember 'People Who Aren't There Anymore' on New Album

Hear new single "The Tower"

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Oct 24, 2023

The seventh studio album from Future Islands is nearly upon us. Today, the Baltimore synthpop greats have announced their forthcoming new collection and shared new single "The Tower."

People Who Aren't There Anymore is due January 26 via 4AD. It's the follow-up to 2020's As Long as You Are, as well as a series of remix EPs, and includes "King of Sweden," a song the band debuted on Colbert last year.

Press materials describe the LP as a reflection of "the transience of a band's existence; the rare privilege of travelling all over the world contrasting with the sadness of fleeting moments in and out people's lives. Being everywhere but also nowhere. Remembering the lives lost and the living they'll never see again, cherishing the present and being grateful for the past."

Singer Samuel T. Herring made his acting debut on the Apple TV+ series The Changeling earlier this year. Four of those episodes were directed by Jonathan van Tulleken, who also directed the video for "The Tower" — a gentle jaunt of a jam anchored by buzzing low-end frequencies.

"Anyone who's seen Sam on stage shape shift with his whole body and voice from heart-wrenchingly tender to fantastically ferocious knows that he is a truly, magnetic, performer," Tulleken shared in a statement.

The director continued:

This was no small reason why he was cast for a role in The Changeling, where he plays a complex character who appears to be one thing whilst actually another. It was a role that would be no easy task for even the most seasoned actor, but Sam, applying all his stagecraft, charisma, smarts, and natural empathy, absolutely nailed it, producing a riveting performance. I loved working with someone who came to acting via this persona they had built in their music. To then get to collaborate on a music video with him was a delight, especially one which explores that duality of light and dark literally and metaphorically. Finding that same captivating, haunting, performance but this time with the track as script.

Watch the video for "The Tower" below.

People Who Aren't There Anymore:

1. King of Sweden
2. The Tower
3. Deep in the Night
4. Say Goodbye
5. Give Me the Ghost Back
6. Corner of My Eye
7. The Thief
8. Iris
9. The Fight
10. Peach
11. The Sickness
12. The Garden Wheel

Pre-order People Who Aren't There Anymore.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage