Fugazi Offshoot Deathfix Detail Debut Album, Announce North American Tour

Fugazi Offshoot Deathfix Detail Debut Album, Announce North American Tour
Last month, Fugazi skinsman Brendan Canty announced his Deathfix project with news of a self-titled LP and a stream of the band's "Low Lying Dreams," though it was unclear just when it would all be released. The group and Dischord Records have now set an official street date for their self-titled debut, and it will be out February 25.

Plans have changed a bit since first we heard from Deathfix, which also includes Canty's fellow Bob Mould back-up band buddy Rich Morel and Medications members Mark Cisneros and Devin Ocampo. While it was initially reported that the LP would feature nine new numbers, all of which recorded at Canty's home studio in DC, the tracklisting has now been shortened to seven.

As previously hinted, the song cycle apparently homes in on glam and '70s progressive rock influences. Lyrically, the set supposedly features character studies that cover themes of "sickness, breakups, corruption, drugs, fame, and losing one's mind." You can check out the previously premiered "Low Lying Dreams" down below and another tune titled "Transmission" over here.

Deathfix have also announced some North American tour dates this March, with Canuck appearances scheduled for Montreal and Toronto. You can see the itinerary beneath the tracklisting.


1. Better Than Bad
2. Low Lying Dreams
3. Hospital
4. Dali's House
5. Playboy
6. Mind Control
7. Transmission

Tour dates:

3/8 Pittsburgh, PA - The Mr. Roboto Project
3/9 Cleveland, OH - Now That's Class
3/10 Chicago, IL - Schubas Tavern
3/11 Detroit, MI - Magic Stick Lounge
3/12 Toronto, ON - Wrong Bar
3/13 Montreal, QC - Il Motore
3/14 Cambridge, MA - TT The Bears
3/15 Philadelphia, PA - Johnny Brenda's
3/16 Brooklyn, NY - Knitting Factory
3/17 Washington, DC - Black Cat Backstage