Fleetwood Mac's Early Years Chronicled with New Box Set and Expanded Reissue

Fleetwood Mac's Early Years Chronicled with New Box Set and Expanded Reissue
Fleetwood Mac are most commonly remembered for their classic mid-late '70s period, when Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks were in the band and they recorded classic albums like Rumors (1977) and Tusk (1979). Next, however, the band's early period will be explored with a reissue and a vinyl box set, which will arrive on August 20 via Rhino.

The box set is called Fleetwood Mac: 1969-1972, and it includes four albums from the years indicated in the title. These are the band's first four records for Reprise: Then Play On (1969), Kiln House (1970), Future Games (1971) and Bare Trees (1972). These have been pressed on 140-gram vinyl and come in their own reproductions of the original sleeves.

The set documents the band's transition from the blues of their early work to the folk and pop sounds that characterized their most popular period. It comes with a bonus 7-inch: a replica of the 1969 single for "Oh Well - Pt. 1" and "Oh Well - Pt. 2." The albums themselves don't include any extra material.

As for the aforementioned stand-alone reissue, it's an expanded CD version of Then Play On. This was the band's last album with co-founder Peter Green as a full member. The remastered and expanded edition features the original UK running order and is fleshed out with four bonus tracks initially released as singles, plus new liner notes.

See the tracklist for this expanded reissue below.

Then Play On: Expanded Edition:

1. Coming Your Way

2. Closing My Eyes

3. Fighting for Madge

4. When You Say

5. Show Biz Blues

6. Underway

7. One Sunny Day

8. Although the Sun Is Shining

9. Rattlesnake Shake

10. Without You

11. Searching for Madge

12. My Dream

13. Like Crying

14. Before The Beginning

15. Oh Well - Pt. 1 (bonus track)

16. Oh Well - Pt. 2 (bonus track)

17. The Green Manalishi (with the Two Prong Crown) (bonus track)

18. World In Harmony (bonus track)