Faust Return with Something Dirty

Faust Return with <i>Something Dirty</i>
If ever you cracked wise about selling your soul in order to hear some new Faust music in 2011, you might want to start worrying about your future right about now. While you will certainly rejoice at the news that the Hamburg-based Krautrock pioneers are gearing up for the release of their next trippy disc, Something Dirty, you may have also inadvertently sealed your doom. Thankfully, it will be worth it.

The outfit's next record, scheduled for a January 28 release on Bureau B, promises to deliver another twisted chapter in the long-running outfit's hazy, experimental rock'n'roll journey. Since their 1971 self-titled debut, Faust have melted minds with their Dadaist, free-rock sound.

A tracklisting for Something Dirty is down below and that's the cover art above. You can also check out this footage of the group founders Jean-Hervé Peron and Zappi Diermaier, Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds member James Johnston, and English painter/filmmaker/author/musician Geraldine Swayne crafting an ethereal, slow-building drone piece for the album made up of ethereal guitar squalls and trumpet blasts. It's heavenly.

For more info on the album, head here

Something Dirty:

1. "Tell the Bitch to Go Home"
2. "Herbststimmung"
3. "Something Dirty"
4. "Thoughts of the Dead"
5. "Lost the Signal"
6. "Je Bouffe"
7. "Whet"
8. "Invisible Mending"
9. "Dampfauslass 1"
10. "Dampfauslass 2"
11. "Pythagoras"
12. "Save the Last One"
13. "La Sole Dorée"