Edmonton's Michael Rault Plots 'Whirlpool' EP, Canadian Tour Dates

Edmonton's Michael Rault Plots 'Whirlpool' EP, Canadian Tour Dates
Edmonton songwriter Michael Rault emerged a few years ago as a fresh-faced teenager with his Crash! Boom! Bang! EP. Since then, he's dropped the full-length Ma-Me-O, and now he's looking to take the next step. That means releasing his next EP, Whirlpool, which will be out on July 31 through Pirates Blend Records.

Rault played nearly every instrument on the retro-inspired collection himself. According to a press release, it includes everything from "poppy" numbers to more "bluesy" forays and a cover of Two Wings" derived from vocal group the Staple Singers, while all the while "remaining true to its pure rock roots."

That certainly seems to be true of the single "I Want to Love You," which appears on Whirlpool in both lo-fi and hi-fi forms. This grimy blues-pop number harkens back to the early days of garage rock, and you can see an appropriately vintage-looking clip for the song at the bottom of the page. It's also available as a free downed below or at Bandcamp.

According to the Pirates Blend website, Whirlpool will be free. To support the EP, Rault will play a handful of tour dates over the summer. See his schedule below the tracklist.


1.  I Wanna Love You (hi-fi)
2.  He Don't Care About You
3.  Two Wings
4.  Everyone Must Cry Sometimes
5.  Fall in Love With Every Girl I See
6.  Suckcess
7.  I Want To Love You (lo-fi)

Tour dates:

7/20 Hinton, AB - Wild Mountain Music Festival
7/27 Edmonton, AB - Hawrelak Park @ Interstellar Rodeo
7/28 Calgary, AB - The Hi Fi Club
8/4 Toronto, ON - Express Pavilion @ Molson Canadian Amphitheatre
8/11 Fernie, BC - Wapiti Fernie Music Festival