Ducks Ltd. Announce Sophomore Album 'Harm's Way,' Share Video for New Single "Hollowed Out"

The duo's follow-up to 2021's 'Modern Fiction' arrives next year

Photo: Colin Medley

BY Kaelen BellPublished Nov 30, 2023

Last month, Toronto's Ducks Ltd. shared the the frantic, jangly (obviously) new single "The Main Thing," and today sees the duo drop a new single and news of their sophomore album — Harm's Way is arriving February 9 on Royal Mountain Records, and we get another taste of it with the thrumming "Hollowed Out."

The new single features backing vocals from Ratboys' Julia Steiner, Marcus Nuccio (who also plays drums on the track), Dehd's Jason Balla and Moontype's Margaret McCarthy. The song also includes strings arranged and performed by Finom's Macie Stewart.

"There was a sinkhole that opened up on Dundas West a little while ago, in an area near to where I live. It shut down the road for a month. It had a strange resonance, partly because a lot of the streets in Toronto used to be rivers and streams running down to the lake that roads were then built over," singer/lyricist Tom McGreevy of the song. "It felt like an encroachment of nature into an urban environment — the river coming back to collapse a piece of civic infrastructure, and I built the song around the feeling that evoked."

The follow-up to their 2021 debut Modern Fiction, Harm's Way was produced by Dave Vettraino. "They're songs about struggling," McGreevy said of the album. "About watching people I care for suffer, and trying to figure out how to be there for them. And about the strain of living in the world when it feels like it's ready to collapse." 

Check out the video for "Hollowed Out," plus the Harm's Way tracklist, below. 

Harm's Way:

1. Hollowed Out
2. Cathedral City
3. The Main Thing
4. Train Full of Gasoline
5. Deleted Scenes
6. On Our Way to the Rave
7. A Girl, Running
8. Harm's Way
9. Heavy Bag

Latest Coverage