Drainolith Returns with New Album for NNA Tapes

BY Alex HudsonPublished Mar 16, 2015

Following AIDS Wolf's breakup a few years back, guitarist Alexander Moskos has continued to release music under his Drainolith moniker, and now the Montreal musician has announced his latest release. Hysteria will out on LP and digitally on June 2 through NNA Tapes.

Moskos made this album in various studios over the course of two years with producers Nate Young (of Wolf Eyes) and Neil Hagerty (of Royal Trux). According to a press release, the six-song effort emphasizes guitar and voice, along with dense layers of beats and electronics.

The results are apparently "ripe with bluesy fuzziness and the humanity of Americana, while punctuated by the gritty stab of '80s death metal, and further rounded out with a sprinkling of EVH-esque chorus zones and free jazz adventurousness."

Thematically, meanwhile, Hysteria touches on "Quebec biker wars, sinking into couches, Detroit street hassles, sneaker worship, sidewalk slush, sexual desire and seasonal affect[ive] disorder."

The tracklist is below. Lead single "No Name (Dany Kane's Blues)" is forthcoming.


1. No Name (Dany Kane's Blues)
2. Inside and Outside (Bog's Blues)
3. Kix
4. Same Whip Same Damage (Borderline Blues)
5. UAV
6. Joy Road

Latest Coverage