Dischord Reissues Rites of Spring's 'Six Song Demo'

BY Josiah HughesPublished Sep 13, 2012

If there's one label that can do no wrong in unearthing old material, it's the venerable Washington, DC imprint Dischord. The punk powerhouse will continue its ongoing reissue campaign with a repress of Rites of Spring's six-song demo.

Simply called Six Song Demo, the 1984 cassette-only release will get its first official release from Dischord after years of crappy bootlegs. The group, which featured future Fugazi members Guy Picciotto and Brendan Canty, disbanded in 1986.

Recorded by Don Zientara and Ian MacKaye at Inner Ear Studios before the band even played their first show, the release documents the proto-emocore band in their earliest form.

On October 20, Dischord will issue Rites of Spring's demo on CD, 10-inch vinyl and as a digital download.

Six Song Demo:

1. End on End
2. Remainder
3. Persistent Vision
4. Hain's Point
5. All There Is
6. By Design

Latest Coverage