Discharge Sign with Nuclear Blast for First Album in 8 Years

Discharge Sign with Nuclear Blast for First Album in 8 Years
Get ready for a whole bunch of d-beats, punk and metal fans, as UK legends Discharge have just announced plans to issue their first album in eight years in 2016. Titled End of Days, the crusty hardcore crew's latest aural assault will smack you down sometime next year through new label home Nuclear Blast.

News of the signing was confirmed by the band, who report that the lineup for this next LP includes longtime members Anthony "Bones" Roberts, Terence "Tezz" Roberts and Royston "Rainy" Wainwright.

While "Tezz" had sung and played drums in Discharge over the years, he's currently handling rhythm guitar duties. Their current vocalist is Jeff "J.J." Janiak, whom the band say "captures the original Discharge sound and spirit," while d-beats are being delivered by David "Proper" Caution.

The now five-piece Discharge noted that they're happy to be a part of the Nuclear Blast family, while label owner Markus Staiger is likewise plenty of stoked to get the British band on the roster.

"I grew up listening to hardcore and punk and Discharge were one of my favourite bands from the beginning. Discharge were more extreme and more fucked up than everything else," he said, citing 1981's Why and 1982's Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing as genre classics that inspired the likes of Metallica, Slayer, Soulfly and countless other acts.

Though neither a due date nor a tracklisting has been revealed behind End of Days, you'll find a raging concert-shot video for album track "NWO" down below.

Discharge's last full-length release was 2008's Disensitise, which saw release through Vile/Candlelight Records.