Dirty Projectors Announce 'Swing Lo Magellan'

Dirty Projectors Announce 'Swing Lo Magellan'
When Dirty Projectors unveiled the single "Gun Has No Trigger" late last week, we suspected that meant the experimental pop crew were close to announcing their new album. Sure enough, Swing Lo Magellan will be out on July 10 via Domino Records.

This follow-up to 2009's Bitte Orca contains 12 songs that were culled from a year-long writing and recording session at a house in Delaware County, NY. Leader David Longstreth worked on a whopping 70 new tracks, which he eventually whittled down with the help of his Dirty Projectors bandmates. Longstreth produced and mixed the record himself.

"It's an album of songs, an album of songwriting," he said in a statement.

The recordings are apparently riddled with imperfections and spontaneity, giving the collection "both the handmade intimacy of a love letter and the widescreen grandeur of a blockbuster."

Check out the tracklist below. "Gun Has No Trigger" is streaming at the bottom of the page.

Swing Lo Magellan:

1. Offspring Are Blank

2. About to Die

3. Gun Has No Trigger

4. Swing Lo Magellan

5. Just from Chevron

6. Dance for You

7. Maybe That Was It

8. Impregnable Question

9. See What She Seeing

10. The Socialites

11. Unto Caesar

12. Irresponsible Tune