Deafheaven Announce 'Infinite Granite' LP, Share New Single

Listen to "Great Mass of Color"
Deafheaven Announce 'Infinite Granite' LP, Share New Single
As predicted, Deafheaven have announced a new album called Infinite Granite. It's out August 20 through Sargent House, and the post-metal band have shared the single "Great Mass of Color" now.

The album was produced by Justin Meldal-Johnsen, engineered by longtime Deafheaven collaborator Jack Shirley at his Atomic Garden East studio in Oakland, CA, and mixed by Darrell Thorp.

A press release promises "another giant leap forward" full of "defiant beauty." Apparently frontman George Clarke mostly avoids his usual black metal shriek on Infinite Granite, with his focus instead on melody and clean singing.

All this can be hear on single "Great Mass of Color," which is full of dramatic post-rock guitars and sentimental, pop-friendly crooning — although there still a tiny bit of growling right at the end.

Check out the song below and the album tracklist below that.

Infinite Granite:

1. Shellstar
2. In Blur
3. Great Mass of Color
4. Neptune Raining Diamonds
5. Lament for Wasps
6. Villain
7. The Gnashing
8. Other Language
9. Mombasa

Pre-order Infinite Granite.