Darkstar Announce 'Foam Island' LP, Share New Single

Darkstar Announce 'Foam Island' LP, Share New Single
Last year, British electronic outfit Darkstar lost singer James Buttery and returned to their original two-piece formation. Now, following a recent mixtape and a Paul McCartney cover, the duo of James Young and Aiden Whalley have formally announced their new album. It's called Foam Island and it will be out on September 25 through Warp Records.

Without Buttery as a frontman, Whalley has taken over singing duties, and an announcement notes that his vocals are "heavily treated." The music is said to be Neptunes-esque electronic R&B with themes of "political isolation, social disillusionment, ambition and hope against the odds."

The album cover is above and the tracklist is below. Scroll down to the bottom of the page to hear the blippy electro-soul slow-burner "Pin Secure."

If you're suitably impressed, Foam Island can be pre-ordered in all the usual formats from Bleep.

Foam Island:

1. Basic Things
2. Inherent in the Fibre
3. Stoke the Fire
4. Cuts
5. Go Natural
6. A Different Kind of Struggle
7. Pin Secure
8. Through the Motions
9. Tilly's Theme
10. Foam Island
11. Javan's Call
12. Days Burn Blue

Tour dates:

08/19 Cologne, Germany - c/o pop Festival
11/04 London, UK - Institute of Contemporary Arts