Daniel Romano's Ancient Shapes Shares New Video from 'Silent Rave' Tape

Daniel Romano's Ancient Shapes Shares New Video from 'Silent Rave' Tape
Daniel Romano debuted his Ancient Shapes project last year with an LP of the same name, and now he's set to share a brand new album under that moniker at a string of upcoming shows. The follow-up to Ancient Shapes is titled Silent Rave, and it will only be available to purchase on cassette at his fast-approaching Ontario live dates.

Though the recording was once again written, performed and recorded by Romano alone, the live performances of Silent Rave will feature Zach Haist (drums), Kay Berkel (bass), Justis Krar (guitar) and Ian Kehoe (guitar). You can see the complete tracklisting for the 10-song set below, while the cassette artwork is pictured up above.
The first preview of the project's sophomore album arrives with a new single titled "Violence in the Mouth of Age," and Exclaim! is giving you the first look at its accompanying music video.
In a statement about the new track and visuals, Romano told Exclaim!:
"Violence in the Mouth of Age" is a love song for the overlooked. This sunshine carol focuses its energies and visual accompaniment towards a timeless companion of youth culture: the teen love affair between alienated youth and its stimulant valentine. Ancient Shapes tenders that perhaps there are other expanses to explore outside of the inside. Another way in. The future, beyond the jaws of yesterday, holds a beautiful violence in the mouth of age. This beautiful violence is rhythmic. To be consumed without fear and transformed in a moment, not unlike the more prominent playmate to those jittery juveniles. This is an analysis, perhaps even a valiant exclamation for bored-youth liberation. Can't you taste it?
You can sample the retro vibes and psychedelic geometrics for yourself down below. Just scroll past Ancient Shapes' upcoming live gigs and hit play to give it a watch. Beyond that, you can also check out a video teaser for the mini-tour.

Silent Rave:

1. Giant Comma
2. Another Century Of Ice
3. Mental Slavery (We Can't Quit)
4. Wabash Wreckingball
5. Violence In The Mouth Of Age
6. My Adidas (revisited)
7. Political Rain
8. Black Leather Jacket
9. The Girl Of God's Lips
10. Blood Orange

Tour dates:
02/23 Toronto, ON – Smiling Buddha
02/24 St. Catharines, ON – Mikado
02/25 London, ON – Call the Office
02/26 Hamilton, ON – This Ain't Hollywood