Daniel Romano Announces Sophomore Solo Album

Daniel Romano Announces Sophomore Solo Album
Where does Daniel Romano find the time? Not only does he play in Attack in Black and Daniel, Fred & Julie, but the Canuck songwriter is also a producer and label boss. What's more, he released his solo debut less than a year ago. Now, he's already getting ready to drop his sophomore solo set, Sleep Beneath the Willow, which is due out April 5 via You've Changed.

A press release says that the record "mixes timeless songwriting with late '60s, AM country arrangements," adding that it will contain "flourishes of fiddle, honky-tonk guitar, banjo and sweeping harmonies."

Among other guests, the album features vocals from Misha Bower of Bruce Peninsula. In keeping with Romano's love of backwards-looking folk music, these 11 tracks "are stories of regret, sorrow, love and yearning: the stuff of life."

See the tracklist below and the album cover above. Go here for a free download of the opening cut, "Time Forgot (to Change My Heart)."

Romano will also be embarking upon a brief Ontario tour in April to promote the release. Scroll past the tracklist for the schedule

Sleep Beneath the Willow:

1. "Time Forgot (to Change My Heart)"
2. "Hard on You"
3. "Lost (for as Long as I Live)"
4. "Knowing That You're Mine"
5. "Louise"
6. "Hellen's Restaurant"
7. "Paul and Jon"
8. "I Won't Let It"
9. "Never a Forced Smile"
10. "There Are Lines in My Face"
11. "Nothing"

Tour dates:

4/5, Toronto, ON - Dakota Tavern
4/6 Waterloo, ON - Starlight
4/7 St. Catharines, ON - Mansion House *
4/8 Ottawa, ON - Raw Sugar Cafe
4/9 Kingston, ON - Mansion
4/10 Hamilton, ON - Casbah Lounge

* with Baby Eagle and Grey Kingdom