Cynic Detail New Album 'Ascension Codes,' Share "Mythical Serpents"

Hear the latest from the band's first LP since 2014

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Sep 15, 2021

Following a tumultuous 2020, Cynic have returned with details of a new album. The long-running progressive outfit will deliver Ascension Codes on November 26 via Season of Mist.

Ascension Codes marks Cynic's first full-length release since 2014's Kindly Bent to Free Us, while new song "Mythical Serpents" marks the group's first new music since 2018 single "Humanoid."

The album's 18-song tracklist, found below alongside "Mythical Serpents," also includes prog-powered songs titled "Elements and Their Inhabitants," "DNA Activation Template" and "In A Multiverse Where Atoms Sing."

"I invite you to sit back, close your eyes, and listen to 'Mythical Serpents' as a fully realized piece of music," founding member Paul Masvidal shared of the single. "No phones or screens necessary, just the power of sound communicating directly into the ears of your heart."

In 2020, both Cynic's founding drummer Sean Reinert and longtime bassist Sean Malone passed away. Reinert had split from the group in late 2017.

In 2019, Cynic treated their acclaimed 2008 album Traced In Air to a remastered reissue.

Ascension Codes

1. Mu-54*
2. The Winged Ones
3. A'-va432 
4. Elements And Their Inhabitants 
5. Ha-144 
6. Mythical Serpents 
7. Sha48* 
8. 6th Dimensional Archetype
9. DNA Activation Template 
10. Shar-216
11. Architects Of Consciousness 
12. DA'z-a86.4
13. Aurora
14. DU-*61.714285
15. In A Multiverse Where Atoms Sing
16. A'jha108 
17. Diamond Light Body 
18. Ec-ka72 

Latest Coverage