Cowboy Junkies Announce Third Volume in 'The Nomad Series'

Cowboy Junkies Announce Third Volume in 'The Nomad Series'
Toronto alt-country veterans Cowboy Junkies have already released the first two instalments in their four-part The Nomad Series: 2010's Renmin Park and this year's Vic Chesnutt tribute Demons. Now, they have revealed the impending release of Volume Thee. Entitled Sing in My Meadow, it's due out October 18 via Latent.

The eight-song collection was recorded in just four days. In a press release, guitarist Michael Timmons described the album thusly:

We wanted the album to revolve around those psychedelic, blues-inspired forays we are so fond of exploring on stage. So this past February the live band (the four of us plus Jeff Bird) gathered in our studio to record all of these songs over a four day period. We approached them all live-off-the-floor, nasty and dirty and disturbing the cold winter night's peace. We tried to channel Miles at the Isle of Wight, deep in his Bitches Brew phase, Captain Beefheart and his Mirror Man psychoses, The Birthday Party live at the Electric Ballroom circa 1981 (Margo, Al and I were in that audience) and Neil and Crazy Horse in the back room at SIR... overdriven and thick with electricity.

Once all four volumes in The Nomad Series are released, Cowboy Junkies plan to put out a book that "will delve into the character, nature, and inspiration behind each of the albums." We know that it will discuss Cuban American artist Enrique Martinez Celaya, whose Nomad paintings partly inspired the series. The artist's own Whale and Star will publish the tome.

In the meantime, check out Sing in My Meadow's tracklist below and stream the title track at the bottom of the page.

Sing in My Meadow:

1. "Continental Drift"
2. "It's Heavy Down Here"
3. "3rd Crusade"
4. "Late Night Radio"
5. "Sing In My Meadow"
6. "Hunted"
7. "A Bride's Price"
8. "I Move On"

Cowboy Junkies - Sing In My Meadow by killbeat music