Cowboy Junkies Announce Fourth Volume in 'The Nomad Series'

Cowboy Junkies Announce Fourth Volume in 'The Nomad Series'
Cowboy Junkies have spent the last couple of years issuing multiple albums under the banner The Nomad Series, and the alt-country act will wrap up the project with a fourth instalment titled The Wilderness this spring.

A press release for the LP, which follows 2010's Renmin Park and last year's Demons and Sing in My Meadow, will arrive March 27 care of Latent. While the first volume was inspired by guitarist Michael Timmins's time in China, and Demons was a tribute to the late Vic Chesnutt, the new collection seems to carry a broader overall theme.

"The title, The Wilderness, in some odd way seemed to define what these songs were actually 'about': fragility, emptiness, loneliness, beauty, chance, loss, desperation, the delicate balancing act that makes up a life," Timmins said in a statement. "They are about being lost in the wilderness of age, the wilderness of parenthood, in the wilderness of just trying to find meaning and substance, happiness and truth in one's day to day life. They are about standing alone in middle of it all, breathing in the cold still air and wondering."

While The Wilderness will be issued on its own, all four volumes of The Nomad Series will soon be packaged together as a box set. The compendium will also contain an as-yet-unannounced bonus CD.

As previously announced, a book delving into "the character, nature, and inspiration" of each album is in the works as well. Publishing house Whale and Star will deliver the tome, which will also include all the music.

The Wilderness: The Nomad Series Volume 4:

1. "Unanswered Letter"

2. "Idle Tales"

3. "We Are The Selfish Ones"

4. "Angels In The Wilderness"

5. "Damaged From The Start"

6. "Fairytale"

7. "Staring Man"

8. "The Confessions Of George E"

9. "I Let Him In"

10. "Fuck, I Hate The Cold"