Codeine Reunite, Announce Extensive Reissue Series for Numero Group

Codeine Reunite, Announce Extensive Reissue Series for Numero Group
Nearly 20 years after their dissolution, slow-core greats Codeine have announced their return. The original lineup of the group have just revealed plans to play at next May's All Tomorrow's Parties  festival in London, and are hinting at more dates to come.

"These are Codeine's first public performances since 1994," the band wrote in a statement. "We will be performing a very limited series of concerts in the U.S., UK and Europe."

On top of getting together in front of a new generation of fans, the band will also be promoting an upcoming reissue series, which will come courtesy of the Numero Group. While the label is well-known for its Eccentric Soul series, it seems the imprint will be pulling out all stops for the moody rockers. A press sheet from the imprint describes the releases as the label's "first foray into the world of what the label deems 'the post-songwriting era.'"

Codeine are calling the reissue campaign When I See the Sun. Numero will deliver deluxe, double-LP versions of 1990's Frigid Stars, 1992's Barely Real and Codeine's 1994 swan song The White Birch on May 8. On top of the regular tracklistings, "All three albums will be subjected to Numero's notoriously elaborate packaging and detailed liner notes, and will be accompanied by period appropriate singles, demos, Peel Sessions, and live tracks."

You can catch the details down below. CDs of all the material covered will be plunked into their respective vinyl counterparts. Codeine added that the whole magilla will also be collected in a limited box set.

"Our hope is to make our music and legacy available to all who are interested," they concluded.

Frigid Stars:

1. "D"
2. "Gravel Bed"
3. "Pickup Song"
4. "3 Angels"
5. "New Year's"
6. "Second Chance"
7. "Cave-In"
8. "Cigarette Machine"
9. "Old Things"
10. "Pea"

Bonus material:

11. "Castle" (Afternoon Delight compilation)
12. "Three Angels" (Previously unreleased)
13. "Skeletons" (Previously unreleased)
14. "Corner Store" (Previously unreleased)
15. "Squid" (Previously unreleased)
16. "Summer Dresses" (Previously unreleased)
17. "Pickup Song" (Demo, Previously unreleased)
18. "Pea" (Alternate)
19. "Second Chance" (B-side of D 7")
20. "D" (Live, Yo Yo A Go Go compilation)
21.  "A L'Ombre De Nous" (Split 7" with Bastro)

Barely Real:

1. "Realize"
2. "Jr"
3. "Barely Real"
4. "Hard To Find"
5. "W."
6. "Promise Of Love"

Bonus material:

7. "Media" (Peel Session, Previously unreleased)
8. "We're dead" (Peel Session, Previously unreleased)
9. "Realize" (Live, Previously unreleased)
10. "Hydroplane" (Live Unrest cover, Previously unreleased)
11. "I Wonder" (Previously unreleased)
12. "Cracked In Two" (Revolution compilation)
13. "Jr" (Instrumental, Previously unreleased)
14. "Broken-Hearted Wine" (B-side of Realize 7")

The White Birch:

1. "Sea"
2. "Loss Leader"
3. "Vacancy"
4. "Kitchen Light"
5. "Washed Up"
6. "Tom"
7. "Ides"
8. "Wird"
9. "Smoking Room"

Bonus material:

10. "Ides" (Alternate version, Working Holiday compilation)
11. "Smoking Room" (Demo, Previously unreleased)
12. "Atmosphere" (Joy Division cover, A Means To An End compilation)
13. "2 Faced Man" (Suicide cover, Your Invitation To Suicide compilation)
14. "Loss Leader" (Peel Session, Previously unreleased)
15. "Something New" (B-side to Tom 7")
16. "Wird" (Demo, Previously unreleased)