Cloud Nothings, Walrus, Spiral Stairs Contribute to New 'Taking It to Heart' Charity Comp

You can hear Dan Mangan's newly premiered contribution "Garçon Means Boy" now

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Sep 25, 2017

Following the success of last year's Taking It to Heart, Calgary label Treeline Recordings is returning with a second charity-minded release. Instead of such acts as Operators, Kevin Drew and Chad VanGaalen, this time, though, the label has roped in the likes of Dan Mangan, Cloud Nothings, Walrus, Spiral Stairs and more for Taking It to Heart, Volume Two.

Taking It to Heart, Volume Two arrives both digitally and on vinyl October 13. Again, all proceeds go to the Heart & Stroke Foundation.

Among the comp's 15 tracks, you'll find unreleased songs donated by Cloud Nothings, Matthew Sweet, Pavement hero Spiral Stairs, Islands' Nick Diamonds, the Wet Secrets, and Dan Mangan. Some groups even recorded track specifically for the comp, including Walrus, Traces, Marlaena Moore and Library Voices offshoot the Low Joy Ceiling.

Speaking of Cloud Nothings' contribution, "Relief," the band's Dylan Baldi said in statement: "I had this demo of a song that I made last summer that was probably just going to sit around forever, but [Treeline's] Ryan [Montemurro] got in touch about the Taking It to Heart compilation, and it seemed like an appropriate spot for the tune. It's always nice to be able to contribute something to a good cause."

For a taste of what's in store, you can stream the premiere of Dan Mangan's "Garçon Means Boy," a demo recording of an unreleased 2007 song. Check it out below.

UPDATE (9/26, 12:30 p.m. EDT): You can now also hear Cloud Nothings' "Relief" below via Pitchfork.

Taking It to Heart, Volume Two will arrive as a double-LP pressed on 180-gram coloured vinyl (clear with blood red splatter), in a limited edition of 300 copies.  Each 12-inch will be hand-numbered and will include a download code. You can pre-order the limited physical edition, as well as the digital version, over here.

Treeline will also be hosting a benefit show at the Needle Vinyl Tavern in Edmonton on November 11. The Wet Secrets are headlining with Marlaena Moore and Diamond Mind providing support.

Taking It to Heart, Volume Two:

1. "Hypnotized (demo)" - Spiral Stairs
2. "Lonely Summer" - Matthew Sweet
3. "Mr. Insecure" - Walrus
4. "Relief" - Cloud Nothings
5. "In Fragments" - Traces
6. "Garçon Means Boy" - Dan Mangan
7. "Tidal Wave Of Hate (Baby Let's Surf)" - The Wet Secrets
8. "Tropical Kings" - CTZNSHP
9. "Fake" - Fury Things
10. "Everyone Loves A Jonathon" - The Low Joy Ceiling
11. "You Love Me" - Marlaena Moore
12. "No Home Left In The Head" - Astral Swans
13. "UFO Marzipan" - Nick Diamonds
14. "Halo's Heavy" - Diamond Mind *
15. "Bottom Line" - Scott Fab *

* digital only bonus track

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage