Clipping. Reveal Their Debut Album for Sub Pop

BY Alex HudsonPublished Mar 11, 2014

A few years back, Sub Pop ventured into hip-hop by signing Shabazz Palaces, and now the imprint is preparing to release an album from Los Angeles rap outfit clipping., whose label debut is called CLPPNG. It will be out on June 10.

A press release notes that the band is made up of rapper Daveed Diggs and producers Jonathan Snipes and William Hutson. Their style is noisy and abrasive, although they consider their music simply "rap," rather than a hybrid sub-genre.

According to a press release, "Despite the heavy use of noise throughout many of their songs, here the group's sense of space is fully utilized, often using an abrupt break into silence as effectively as a big drop, while Diggs is confident enough to go a cappella for stretches."

Check out a lyric video for the album cut "Work Work" at the bottom of this page.

The CD and digital versions of CLPPNG consist of 14 tracks, while the vinyl reduces this number to 12. Even this is too long to fit onto a single record, so it's pressed across three sides, with the fourth side consisting of 100 locked grooves.

Those who pre-order the record on vinyl will get the limited-edition "Loser Edition" on white vinyl. Everyone who pre-orders the album on LP or CD will get a bonus 7-inch with two extra songs. Pre-orders can be placed here.

CLPPNG (CD/digital):

1. Intro

2. Body & Blood      

3. Work Work (ft. Cocc Pistol Cree)

4. Summertime (ft. King T)

5. Taking Off

6. Tonight (ft. Gangsta Boo)

7. Dream

8. Get Up (ft. Mariel Jacoda)

9. Or Die (ft. Guce)

10. Inside Out

11. Story 2

12. Dominoes

13. Ends (ft. Charlemagne Lazarus Kinsman)

14. Williams Mix (ft. Tom Erbe)

CLPPNG (vinyl):

1. Body & Blood
2. Work Work (ft. Cocc Pistol Cree)

3. Summertime (ft. King T)

4. Inside Out

5. Tonight (ft. Gangsta Boo)

6. Dream

7. Get Up (ft. Mariel Jacoda)

8. Or Die (ft. Guce)

9. Taking Off

10. Story 2

11. Dominoes

12. Williams Mix (ft. Tom Erbe)

Latest Coverage