CHVRCHES Detail New Album 'Screen Violence,' Share Robert Smith Collaboration

Listen to the record's "How Not to Drown"
CHVRCHES Detail New Album 'Screen Violence,' Share Robert Smith Collaboration
Earlier this year, Glaswegian indie popsters CHVRCHES returned with their single "He Said She Said," their first new material since 2019. As it turns out, that song was one piece of a larger body of work titled Screen Violence — their fourth studio album, which they've just announced.

The 10-track record is scheduled to arrive on August 27 through Glassnote Records, and today, the group are previewing more material from the project in the form of a new single featuring the Cure's Robert Smith.

"How Not to Drown" arrives today, ahead of its accompanying music video, which is scheduled to premiere tomorrow at 1 p.m. ET on YouTube. According to a release, the song is "based on the concept of staying conscious when you drown."

As far as the rest of the album is concerned, the group's Lauren Mayberry offered the following statement:

I think for me it was helpful to go into the process with the idea that I could write something escapist almost. That felt freeing initially, to have concepts and stories to weave your own feelings and experiences through but in the end, all the lyrics were definitely still personal.

Martin Doherty added: "To me, the screen aspect was a bit more literal. When we were making the record, it was like half of our lives were lived through screens. What began as a concept was now a lifeline."

Screen Violence marks CHVRCHES' follow-up to 2018's Love Is Dead. In 2019, the group shared the titular soundtrack contribution to Hideo Kojima's PlayStation 4 game Death Stranding.

Listen to "How Not to Drown" below, where you'll also find the album's tracklisting.

Screen Violence:

1. Asking for a Friend
2. He Said She Said
3. California
4. Violent Delights
5. How Not to Drown
6. Final Girl
7. Good Girls
8. Lullabies
9. Nightmares
10. Better If You Don't

Pre-order Screen Violence.